Posted in free soul, haiku, Haiku heights, Monday Morning Writing Prompts, poem, Poetry Potluck, Sensational Haiku Wednesdays

free soul 14th feb 2011

https://mydomainpvt.wordpress.com/free-soul/

The earlier poems are in the page above.

Today’s post is for:

For Sensational Haiku Wednesdays @ http://youknowthatblog.com

Thursday Rally for Poets (which will be held once in every three weeks now) @ http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/ or the new blog http://thursdayrallyforpoets.blogspot.com from 17-24th February.

amaltas

petal after petal
bloom after bloom
tumble down its body
like a golden waterfall

all around it summer blazes
scorching heat, merciless sun
waves of heat wave up to ether
flames of fire shoot down

doves coo in some distant tree
lonely like a single lover
dry wind waltzes around her
gold laden amaltas stands still

like a maiden in gold and green
standing alone in a field
waiting for her lover
to come and hold her hands.

Sharmishtha basu
11.2.11

For haiku heights @ http://haiku-heights.blogspot.com

Sharmishtha basu
10.2.11

For Poetry Potluck @ http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com the theme this week is love, bond and relationships


love, bond and relationships

how dreary and bleak
lifeless and dark
this planet throbbing with life
will be for a lonely heart.

a lonely soul dragging alone
without a hand to hold his
no shoulder for his weary head
no lap where he could rest a bit.

love and its bonding is life
not inhaling and exhaling
that bond, that relationship
call it whatever you want is all.

without them life is not worth living
it can take any cloak for you
the core is only pure love
let it wear the garb of family or friends.

it’s the love inside those hearts
that’s the thing that matters
treasures of the universe and wider
are nothing in front of empress love.

Sharmishtha basu
11.2.11

Author:

A bookworm transformed into an addicted writer. I love to write and illustrate them myself. By love I mean love, no half-hearted relationship, a full-fledged, passionate love, I can’t pass two days in a stretch without writing/painting (cyber), just feel empty like lovers do when their lovers are away on a tour! Even though I am thoroughly enjoying self-publishing with amazon, but if you like my work and want to publish my works in your magazine, books or better if you want to publish a book of my works please make me very happy by contacting me. Or if you want to sell my works on commission basis only!! contact me, I will be quite relieved. Honestly writing and selling your own work is a very BORING combination. So you are more than welcome! Mail me @sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com, sermistabasu@gmail.com or go to- my blog (I have 16 blogs in wordpress, all active, some on daily basis, every one on weekly basis screaming and vowing my LOVE for writing and painting- this one is first-born, so special) mydomainpvt.wordpress.com (You will get the link to my remaining blogs there) or you can check out my ezines- monthly- Agnishatdalezine.wordpress.com And Agnijaat.wordpress.com if you want fb you can go to my page facebook.com/sermistabasu, linkedin- linkedin.com/authorsharmishthabasu my email id sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com and sermistabasu@gmail.com I am in goodreads and completelynovel too http://www.goodreads.com/sharmishthabasu http://completelynovel.com/sharmishtha-basu http://amazon.com/author/sharmishthabasu I guess I said enough about myself, right? You will forget if I stuff too much here, so if you are curious to know this humble creature just join me in my blogs :)

81 thoughts on “free soul 14th feb 2011

  1. you really captured well the sentiments of a lonely heart in the first few stanzas… I’m glad the poem ended cheerfully! you write with a great flow. thanks so much for sharing this 🙂

    1. Thanks a lot Linn, we all go through this phase in life i believe, when our own shadow vanishes in darkness- if we live through it life becomes heaven on earth but we never forget that bleakness.

  2. Hello Sharmishtha Basu
    Not that it should matter much for I am yet to make an impression in this beautiful world of writing, but your hiaku has left an indellible impression on my mind.. you think so beautifully… God bless!!!
    Regards,
    Ramesh Sood

    1. Thanks a lot Ramesh, your poems are a million times better than mine, I wish I could comment on your blog, but you dont allow anonymous comments. 😦
      thanks for taking out some of your precious time and reading my poems.

  3. Trisha, the first one was good and the second one was delightful. You really made a lot of sense in it and I could flow alongside the words as the messages erupt. Beautiful.

    Bless!

  4. Love is the seed of all we hope for. Like a maiden waiting…I enjoyed the imagery in this poem. The second poem was different and beautiful . Both are excellent.

  5. Wow– 3 poems in one post! I especially love the first one– with it’s images of heat and sun. Bit the idea of love in the 3rd is a good switch from Vday romantic love. Have a happy day, my friend!

  6. Thursday Poets Rally will take place every other week as usual…

    Thanks for the update and entry…

    welcome and enjoy the fun all the time.
    you rock.
    keep entertaining..

    Happy Valentine’s Day.

  7. I really love the sweet haiku that shows us very simply how much we are alike–even though my hands may be smaller than yours. 🙂

    And always your descriptions of nature’s abundant beauty are striking–amaltas–another flower laden tree.

    Happy Valentine’s Day to someone I love!

  8. I looked up amaltas, golden shower tree indeed. Your description in this poem is an excellent visualization. 🙂

    The dove should have waited in it instead of being lonely on the other side.

    Some form relationships with no bonds. That’s how some view love, by keeping their distance for whatever reason(s).

    1. All I had to do was write what i have seen so many times 🙂

      Exactly, atleast the bees and butterflies would have given him/her company. 🙂

      I prefer relationships with deepest possible bond- I am not much keen in flickering relationships.

  9. I really liked the haiku, and the last poem was striking! Lonely hearts have only to realize that we are all connected…we are all love, we just have to be open to it. 🙂 Namaste.

  10. the core is only pure love
    let it wear the garb of family or friends.

    very wise words .. thats love .. nothing else 🙂

    Loved the impression haiku ! and the poem for rally was super .. specially the last para was so enchanting 🙂

    1. well, i have a neat little list of friends i visit every day, some are irregular like you and some are very punctual 🙂
      i cant sleep well in night without seeing their blogs atleast once a day- with/without commenting.

  11. Amaltas: Look it up. Golden Shower Tree. We don’t have them here, but I can see from the photos how they inspired the poem. I love it … Cascade of flowers, huh?

    What a unique interpretation of breaking down barriers … Bravo! 🙂

    And this stanza in your Potluck poem:
    it’s the love inside those hearts
    that’s the thing that matters
    treasures of the universe and wider
    are nothing in front of empress love.

    So perfectly evocative of the ultimate truth.

    Have a wonderful day, dear Trisha. Thanks for all your visits and comments and the artwork you’ve done for Rally … Blessings ….

    1. Thanks a million times Jamie. I will always be grateful to you for reading my works – sincerely.

      We had quite a lot of amaltas trees in burdwan and the drier areas a little outside burdwan district.

      the beauty of these trees is mild, soft- you have to go close and watch them, they wont catch your eyes from distance like gulmohar does.

Please leave your blog URL/links with your comments if they are not included in your gravatar. If you don’t you will deprive me from one of my favourite things-returning your sweet gesture.