my bio- tell me is it good enough to be used in books?

Well, Sharmishtha Basu is fifth child of Late Dr. Shibaprasad Basu, she is Bengali, Indian, she took birth in Tundla, Uttar Pradesh, lived in and around Uttar Pradesh for the first sixteen years of her life, then returned to Burdwan, West Bengal , her family has dwelled there for five hundred years or so and are still dwelling there, she lived in West Bengal till 2015 February, since February 2015 she is living in Hyderabad.

She is unemployed, unmarried so with lot of time and excessive energy, some evil people made her dreams of having a normal career impossible but that did not diminished her energy, so she utilizes her time and energy mainly by painting and writing, hoping that her books will become her dream career, her salvation in her words, she is a blend of bhaktiyoga and karmayoga.

You can contact her through her blogs @mydomainpvt.wordpress.com (main blog), her facebook page @facebook.com/sermistabasu, amazon page @amazon.com/author/sharmishthabasu or emails sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com & sermistabasu@gmail.com

She loves her journey in this amazing world with all colours, her works are her way of sharing them, they come from her heart and experiences.

She is a very ordinary person who has learned a lot from wise people from all over the world as a result she lives a very happy, content life and wishes the same for everyone else too.

================================================

I am working on a bio which I can use in all public profiles and books, what do you think of it? I will share them with you with the wicked desire of getting your help in writing the best one! πŸ™‚

36 thoughts on “my bio- tell me is it good enough to be used in books?

  1. I like the words but if you are looking at it from an English perspective the first paragraph is all one sentence separated by commas. You need to try to break the sentences up more. I kinda specialize in this short of thing if you want me to help . . . I could try to rewrite it (using your content) and send it back. No problem with the details . . . Just the structure needs a bit of help. I also agree that you might want to get rid of the evil people part. Even when things like this are true . . . They often think more highly of people with a positive outlook. It could turn some potential readers off. Hope I didn’t offend!

    • No, that is absolutely alright, a second view is more than welcome but I prefer sharing reality, so that people don’t think that I love sitting at home without working even though I have every quality and had enough skill to go out and work on my own. That evil specters part will stay, I have heard people hinting to me directly/indirectly I should go out and look for a job to pay my own bills… welcome to my world!

      • I guess then it might hide me in how you say it. It makes it hard for someone like me to understand since I don’t know what evil people . . . Or what specifically you are taking about. It makes you scratch your head if you know what I mean. Perhaps it can be worded differently to explain your situation?

      • you can check out the first chapter of my book “the charons” whenever you have 15 minutes to spare, you will get the clear picture, what type of people I am talking about, they are nothing but evil and they are like infestation in my world, not one or two but too many! that one chapter will give you a clear idea.

        https://www.amazon.com/dp/b00so7hf54

        or if you have more time and patience (lot of it) read honeytrap (https://mydomainpvt.wordpress.com/honey-trap-a-promise-fulfilled/) it too will give you a clear idea.

  2. For example:

    Sharmishtha Basu is the fifth child of the late Dr. Shibaprasad Basu. She is Bengali, Indian – born in Tundla, Uttar Pradesh. For the first sixteen years of her life, she lived in and around Uttar Pradesh and then returned to Burdwan, West Bengal. Her family has dwelled in Burdwan for five hundred years or so and still dwell there. In February 2015, she then moved to Hyderabad.

    • Ah! I always used long sentences, then a not very trustworthy Indian woman of English medium background told me to use small sentences, then an Irish friend of mine while assessing some of my works said I should write in longer sentences, small sentences ruin the flow of reading, I too agree with her and will stick to her suggestion because she is an avid reader and certainly knows English better than me because it is her mother tongue.

    • I was reading the tips of professionals they asked for three sized bios, blurb, mini and larger ones, this one is mini for books and maybe social profiles but I will keep the goodreads one then as the big specimen.

      Thanks for the suggestions and time! It means a lot to me!

      • I was so worried you’d be mad. I only helped because you asked. If you need any help just let me know. If you don’t like it you can always say no. No hard feelings 😊

      • exactly, I asked for an opinion that is why you gave it, even if you had given it on your own, voluntarily there is no question of being angry or hurt! in the end we decide what we do but mostly the suggestions of others help us see the loopholes- like the points you said. both of them- smaller sentences and the part about evil people.

  3. Hi Trisha. How is it going with the bio? I see you got a lot of feedback, so I won’t leave a critique. But I do recommend one change. I’d remove the part about being unemployed — because you really are “employed” because of all the writing and blogging you do. I think it’s lovely. Mega hugs!

Please leave your blog URL/links with your comments if they are not included in your gravatar. If you don’t you will deprive me from one of my favourite things-returning your sweet gesture.

